About EuroStemCell

ESC Logo

EuroStemCell is here to help European citizens make sense of stem cells. We provide independent, expert-reviewed information and road-tested educational resources on stem cells and their impact on society. We’ve received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement number 652796). You can read more about the history of EuroStemCell here.

We’re a partnership of more than 400 stem cell and regenerative medicine labs across Europe, connected via research centres, consortia, networks and hubs. Scientists, clinicians, ethicists, social scientists and science communicators are all part of the project. 

We also work closely with patients, educators, regulators and policy makers to foster engagement and develop material that meets their needs.

Our project team, based in Edinburgh, brings together a range of science communications expertise – from schools engagement and training to resource development, science writing, filmmaking and event management. 

EuroStemCell has key partnerships with European Union-funded stem cell research consortia who provide significant contribution to the project financially and scientifically.

Our Team

Clare Blackburn Portrait

Clare Blackburn

Project Coordinator
Amanda Waite Portrait

Amanda Waite

Information, Network and Translation Manager
Anna Couturier Portrait

Anna Couturier

Digital Manager

Our Partners

Thomas Graf Portrait

Thomas Graf

Daniel Pipeleers

Daniel Pipeleers

Maria Anna Ciemerych-Litwinienko

Maria Anna Ciemerych-Litwinienko

Göran Hermerén portrait

Göran Hermerén

Kim Jensen Photo

Kim Jensen

Anne Rosser Photo

Anne Rosser

Urban Lendahl Portrait

Urban Lendahl

Christine Mummery Photo

Christine Mummery

Giuseppe Testa Photo

Giuseppe Testa

Megan Munsie Photo

Megan Munsie

Fiona Watt Image

Fiona Watt

Austin Smith Photo

Austin Smith

Henrik Semb photo

Henrik Semb

Philip Newsome

Philip Newsome

Juergen Knoblich Photo

Juergen Knoblich

Oliver Brustle Photo

Oliver Brüstle

Andrew Webster

Andrew Webster

Freddy Radtke Portrait

Freddy Radtke

Sarah Chan Photo

Sarah Chan

Paolo de Coppi

Paolo de Coppi

Petr Dvorak Portrait

Petr Dvorak

Daniel Besser Portrait

Daniel Besser

Gerald de Haan Photo

Gerald de Haan

Michele de Luca

Michele de Luca

Peter Andrews Portrait

Peter Andrews

Wendy Bickmore Photo

Wendy Bickmore

Shahragim Tajbakbhsh

Shahragim Tajbakhsh

Elena Cattaneo Photo

Elena Cattaneo

Christine Kubiak Photo

Christine Kubiak

Giulio Cossu Photo

Giulio Cossu

Andras Dinnyes Photo

Andras Dinnyes

Hans Clevers

Hans Clevers

Cedrix Blanpain Photo

Cedric Blanpain


Kieran Ryan portrait

Kieran Ryan

Corin Campbell portrait

Corin Campbell

Eliza Wolfson portrait

Eliza Wolfson

Heather Rooke portrait

Heather Rooke

Mikey Creane portrait

Mikey Creane

Federica Balzani portrait

Federica Balzani

PolandItalyFranceUnited KingdomIrelandSpainBelgiumGermanySwedenNetherlandsSwitzerlandAustriaCzech RepublicHungaryDenmark